## INDIANOLA HIGH SCHOOL: WALL OF DISTINCTION MEMBERS

GRADUATED	NAME	POSITION	LIVING
1878 / 2005	William T. Proudfoot	Nationally known architect, designed buildings @ Iowa's three universities, & public buildings in Des Moines	N
1913 / 2005	Ruth Buxton-Sayre	Appointed by President Eisenhower to national committee, Iowa Farm Bureau	Ν
1921 / 2005	Leota Lane	Actress & dancer	Ν
1923 / 2005	Lola Lane	Actress & dancer	N
1924 / 2005	William Buxton III	Banker & professor, Simpson College community field named for him	N
1930 / 2005	James I. Middleswart	Elected to Iowa House of Representatives, sponsored Bottle Bill, Farmer for 55 years	N
1931 / 2005	Rosemary Lane	Actress & dancer	N
1933 / 2005	Priscilla Lane	Actress & dancer	N
1934 / 2005	Charles O. "Chuck" Laverty	Innovative agriculturalist	N
1935 / 2005	Glen Bodge Bowles	World War II Hero, Director of Iowa Selective Service, Big 12 football official	N
1935 / 2006	Lewis Kimer	Editor & owner of Indianola Record-Herald newspaper	N
1944 / 2010	Rollin Dyer	Simpson College graduate, coach-administrator- athletic director @ Atlantic High School	Y
1944 (NA) / 2005	Junior Edwards	Korean War: Only Iowan to receive the Congressional Medal of Honor	N
1945 / 2006	Dr. James C. Hickman	Emeritus professor & dean @ University of Wisconsin-Madison	Ν

## INDIANOLA HIGH SCHOOL: WALL OF DISTINCTION MEMBERS

1946 / 2009	Dr. Genelle Grant Morain	French teacher @ Indianola H. S., received doctorate & taught @ University of Georgia and @ University of Iowa	Y
1954 / 2005	Richard "Dick" Buxton	Peoples Bank president & owner, Simpson College tennis courts named after him	Ν
1954 / 2007	Dr. Joseph D. Hall	Air Force veteran, Dr. of radiology, practiced in New Zealand & Iowa Methodist Hospital	Y
1956 / 2009	Dr. Garland DeNelsky	Dr. of Psychology & scientific researcher, worked for CIA in Washington D. C.	Y
1958 / 2008	Dr. Ron Norris	Physician & renowned brain surgeon in Boston	Y
1958 / 2011	Gary Ruble	Army Reserves 7 years, Board of Trustees Simpson College, GM of Ruble Motors, city council 7 years, Municipal Utilities Board 9 years, Vice-President of Indianola Chamber of Commerce	Y
1958 / 2010	Stephen Hall	Indianola attorney, Indianola town historian	Y
1959 / 2012	Bob Downing	Simpson College graduate, real estate, owner of construction company, Simpson College Board of Trustees	Y
1960 / 2005	Dr. Carl Fackler	Orthopedic surgeon & Atlanta Falcons team doctor	Y
1960 / 2005	Alan McKee	U. S. Ambassador to Swaziland, 1993 Dartmouth Law School	Y
1961 / 2016	Jerry Stockton	West Point grad., Major in the military, worked with nuclear weapons, M.A. in Nuclear Engineering, advisor to the military on nuclear weapons.	Y
1967 / 2005	Dayton Duncan	Active in politics, author of Historical America, Director Of National Parks Foundation	Y
1967 / 2017	Dan Koch	Middle school principal at the largest middle school in Wisconsin. Outstanding Principal In 2012. Selected School Of Excellence in 2010 & 2012	Y
1967 / 2014	Susan (Nyswonger) McCracken	Teacher, principal, author of four novels, educational consultant @ Ray & Associates, touched the lives of many children	Y
1969 / 2014	Bill Hale	Senior vice-president of grain & oilseed supply chain, commodity trader, currently manages the North American export grain business for Cargill	Y

## INDIANOLA HIGH SCHOOL: WALL OF DISTINCTION MEMBERS

1969 / 2005	Dr. Don Moorman	Physician @ Harvard Medical School	Y
1971 / 2011	J. Steven Patrick	Yale Law School, district judge, chief justice in the 7th judicial district court in Colorado	Y
1972 / 2008	Dr. Ben Gaumer	Physician, Navy veteran, rear admiral in Naval Reserves	Y
1974 / 2014	Larry McConnell	Local businessman (A&W),strong financial supporter of Indianola schools	Y
1975 / 2013	Dr. Joel Hade	Physician & professor of internal medicine @ lowa Methodist, active in Indianola musicals	Y
1975 / 2017	Cheryl Thomas	Attorney and founding director of Global Rights For Women, promoting women's human rights with a focus on achieving effective systemic and legal reform on violence against women.	Y
1976 / 2005	Paul McKee	Professional jazz musician & university professor	Y
1978 / 2005	Jill (Sandy) Anderson	National Teacher of the Year, Milliken Award winner, Iowa Elementary Principal of the Year (Norwalk)	Y
1980 / 2012	Dana (Starr) Petersen	Elementary teacher in IA, KS, CO & IL, elementary principal in IL for 17 years, active In tennis officiating, recipient of many educational honors	N
1982 / 2013	Todd Wood	Active Colonel in the United States Army, served in high commands during three tours in Iraq	Y
1987 / 2018	Dr. John O'Brien	Electrical engineer, leader of his peers at USC, and has a campus building dedicated in his name	N
MEMBERS	40		